GPSG Newsflash 03/2019


GPSG Newsflash 03/19
Specialist Group of the Year Prize

18 April 2019

Dear Colleagues,

We are delighted and extremely honoured to announce that the Greek Politics Specialist Group (GPSG) has won the 2019 Specialist Group of the Year Prize, jointly with the German Politics Specialist Group, on 16 April at the 69th Political Studies Association (PSA) Annual International Conference in Nottingham!

Founded by Roman Gerodimos fifteen years ago, the prestigious award marks a long tradition and commitment of our group to promoting rational thought, cooperation and intellectual progress, in response to challenges, opportunities and transformations, in Greece and internationally.  

In awarding the prize, the judging panel stated:

“As we all know, relations between Germany and Greece are at a very critical point moving forward, particularly around the refugee crisis.  The Specialist Groups are not only responding to these challenges, but are leading the policy agenda from the front.  This is to be commended and demonstrates what can be done when the expertise of Specialist Groups is combined.

They have collaborated across the whole year, during some exceptionally high profile events (e.g. Symposium on Refugee Politics at the Scottish Parliament), that have embraced Pushing the Boundaries as a launch pad for their work, whilst also drawing in additional funding to supplement their activities. This has helped them to foster collaborations and networks with a wide range of external organisations, facilitated by an enhanced emphasis on impact and communications.

This outward looking focus of the two groups extends to seeking further collaborations with other SGs, and their joint commitment to reaching and including new audiences/collaborations goes to the heart of the diversity agenda.”

On our part, we would like to thank the Political Studies Association (PSA) for its continuous and generous support and vision, as well as each and every one of you – our members – for contributing to our activities and inspiring our growth! Thank you!

Photo – From left to right: Hartwig Pautz (Co-convenor of the German Politics Specialist Group), Vasiliki Tsagkroni (Treasurer & Membership Officer of the Greek Politics Specialist Group) and Georgios Karyotis (Co-convenor of the Greek Politics Specialist Group) receive the prize.

Kind Regards,
Dimitris, on behalf of the GPSG Executive Committee.